• Sat February 15 2014
  • Posted Feb 15, 2014
Congratualtions to Jeff Mertz and Brett Griggs for some wwell-deserved recognition!

You'll most likely see Jeff and Brett in their USA Cycling (blue) shirts are races all overe the state on the weekends officiating races. They've done all our races and we are excited to see their dedication pay off! KUDOS!


from USA Cycling...
USA Cycling is pleased to announce its 2013 Officials of the Year. The national governing body named an overall "National Official of the Year," five "Regional Officials of the Year," and 32 "Local Officials of the Year."

The honored officials were chosen by the USA Cycling Technical Commission and Local Associations based on their demonstrated excellence in technical skills, management and teamwork, and service to their respective local associations and race directors.

Taking the top honor as "National Official of the Year" was Randy Shafer (Colorado Springs, Colo.), who progressed to level 1 in 1991 and then became a UCI International Commissaire in 1997.

Regional Officials of the Year

USA Cycling also honored officials in each of its five regions who worked locally, regionally, and nationally to demonstrate excellence in their fields. Congratulations to the following “Regional Officials of the Year.”

Brett Griggs (Iowa City, Iowa) - Midwest Region
Chris Constantino
(Weymouth, Mass.) - Eastern Region
Steve Crews (Dallas, Texas) - Mountain Region
Josie Strange (Panama City Beach, Fla.) - Southeast Region
Al Cronin (Arlington, Wash.) - Western Region

Local “Officials of the Year.”

In addition to the recognition bestowed by USA Cycling, the Local Associations have also named Local “Officials of the Year.” Congratulations to the following Local Officials of the Year:

Jeff Mertz (Waukee, Iowa) – Iowa Bicycle Racing Association
Chris Constantino
(Weymouth, Mass.) – New England Bicycle Racing Association
Bob Pavelec (Loudonville, NY) – New York State Bicycle Racing Association
Mike Doupe (Lancaster, Pa.) – Pennsylvania Cycling Association
Wane Lerch (Washington D.C.) – Mid-Atlantic Bicycle Racing Association
Mike Carey (Chesapeake, Va.) – Virginia Cycling Association
Brandi Hibner (Albuquerque, NM) – New Mexico Bike Racing Association
Marco Vasquez (Castle Rock, Colo.) – Bicycle Racing Association of Colorado
Lura Popovich (Frisco, Texas) – Texas Bicycle Racing Association
Tim Schaars (Salt Lake City, Utah) – Utah Cycling Association
John Cichelli (Lenexa, Ks.) Kansas Cycling Association
Vince Cucco (Rogers, Ark.) – Arkansas Bicycle Coalition
David Isbell (Shawnee, Okla.) – Bicycle Racing Association of Oklahoma
Hoby Lowe (Concord, NC) - Carolinas Cycling Association
John Patterson (Alpharetta, Ga.) – Georgia Bicycle Racing Association
John and Barbara Rigby (Knoxville, Tenn.) – Tennessee Bicycle Racing Association
Michael Callahan (Madison, Ala.) – Alabama Cycling Association
Lane Colvin (Monroe, La.) – Louisiana Mississippi Bicycle Racing Association
Josie Strange (Panama City Beach, Fla.) – Florida Bicycle Racing Association
Carlos Soto (Benicia, Calif.) – Northern California/Nevada Cycling Association
George Crawford (Seattle, Wash.) – Washington State Bicycle Association
Chris Abbruzzese (Boise, Idaho) – Southwest Idaho Cycling Association
Sheli Thomas (Kalispell, Mont.) – Montana Bicycle Racing Association
Nancy Hess (San Clemente, Calif.) – Southern California/Nevada Cycling Association
Amy Thaller (Pekin, Ill.) – Illinois Cycling Association
Barbara Saive (Louisville, Ky.) – Indiana Kentucky Cycling Association
Mitch Beckner (Troy, Ohio) – Ohio Cycling Association
Steve Westerfield (Lapeer, Mich.) – Michigan Bicycle Racing Association
Emily Good (Minneapolis, Minn.) – Minnesota Cycling Federation
Marijn Braadbaart (Webster Groves, Mo.) – Missouri Bicycle Racing Association
Scott Bulfinch (Lincoln, Neb.) – Nebraska Cycling Association
Carolyn Carrell (Wisconsin Dells, Wis.) – Wisconsin Cycling Association






Related Sponsors

No comments have posted.

Leave a Comment

You must be signed in to leave a comment.